Apereo Fellows

In 2022, the Apereo Fellows were reorganized and placed under the Apereo Awards.

This page is being maintained for historical documentation only. 

Please visit the Apereo Awards page for more information.


Historical Documentation Only:

Fostering community leadership and contributions

Program Goals
The purpose of the Apereo Foundation Fellows Program is to acknowledge, celebrate and reward the contributions of these important Apereo volunteer contributors. The Apereo Fellows program seeks to foster community leadership and contribution through recognizing and supporting active contributors. Contributors bring varied expertise to the community, including architecture, design and development of technology, best practices in teaching, learning, research and collaboration, and coordination of community functions. The Apereo Fellows program recognizes such contributions and supports the efforts of the Fellows through a modest stipend.

Fellows Program
Annually a range of 4-6 Fellows will be chosen for a one-year term. Fellows will be awarded a $2,500.00 (USD) stipend for the year with the intention that the stipend be used in Apereo-related activities, e.g., travel, equipment and professional development. The fellowships will run from Summer conference to Summer conference. The idea is that new fellows will be announced at the conference.

Prospective Apereo Fellows may be nominated by anyone within the Apereo Community or may self-nominate. The nominations should be merit-based, describing how the candidate has contributed in one of the many areas of importance to the Apereo community, including code development, pedagogy, evangelism, technology and interface design, conference development, interoperability, functional expertise, or community leadership. The focus of the nomination should be on what the Fellow has accomplished in the community already, and what he or she proposes to accomplish during the fellowship period. Past contribution isn't absolutely required, but is often a good indicator of future engagement. Fellows are not required to be based at a Apereo Foundation participating institution. This is to assure that the Fellows Program recognizes individual contributors. A letter of support from the Fellow's institution is desired to assure that the person will receive support for these activities during their Fellowship tenure.

Apereo Fellows will be selected by a small committee of Apereo community members. A member of the Apereo Board of Directors will sit on the committee as a liaison to the Board, and to facilitate any funding or policy discussions with the Board.

During their tenure, Fellows will be asked to speak at Apereo conferences, and will have their work featured on the Apereo website and through other channels of Apereo outreach and education. Fellows who wish to publish or offer white papers on their activities are encouraged to do so. Such whitepapers will be prominently displayed.

The activities of the Fellows will be largely self-directed, although the Foundation Executive Director and/or Foundation staff will help coordinate Fellows' activities and help with twice-yearly report-outs of their activities.

Commercial and/or foundation support for this program will be considered. Initial support will come from the Apereo Foundation.


Apereo Fellows:

2021 Apereo Fellows

David P. Bauer, University of Dayton
Sakai, Tsugi

Maxilmilliano Lira Del Canto, Universität zu Köln

Olivier Gerbé, HEC Montreal

Nikki Massaro Kauffman, Penn State University 

See bios and photos of our 2021 Fellows.

2020 Apereo Fellows
Shoji Kajita, Kyoto University
Christian Murphy, Unicon, Inc.
Bernardo Garcia Vila, Entornos de Formación
Joshua Wilson, Longsight, Inc.

See bios and photos of our 2020 Fellows.

2019 Apereo Fellows
Julien Gribonvald, GIP RECIA
Greg Logan, consultant
Misagh Moayyed, Unicon
Martin Ramsay, LAMP
Jolie Tingen, Duke University

See photos and bios of our 2019 Fellows.

2018 Apereo Fellows
Shawn Foster, Western University
Luisa Li, Marist College
Rüdiger Rolf, University of Onabrück
Tiffany Stull, University of Virginia
Tim Vertein, University of Wisconsin-Madison

See photos and bios of our 2018 Fellows.

2017 Apereo Fellows
Adrian Fish, Lancaster University
Benito Gonzalez, Unicon
Dede Hourican, Marist College
Ron Mitchell,
Miguel Pellicer, Entornos de Formación
Sven Stauber, SWITCH

See photos and bios of our 2017 Fellows.

2016 Apereo Fellows
Matt Clare, Centre for Pedagogical Innovation at Brock University
Wilma Hodges, Longsight
Brian Jones, Western University
José Mariano Luján, University of Murcia
Jacques Raynauld, HEC Montreal
Charles Severance, University of Michigan/Longsight

See photos and bios of our 2016 Fellows.

2015 Apereo Fellows

Alexandre Ballesté, Universidad de Lleida
Simon Gaeremynck, Fronteer
Gao Jun, Fudan University
Lars Kiesow, ELAN e.V./University of Osnabrück
Tim Levett, University of Wisconsin
Earle Nietzel, Scriba

See photos and bios of our 2015 Apereo Fellows.

2014 Apereo Fellows
Diego del Blanco Orobitg, Asahi NET International
Bryan Holladay, Longsight
Juan José Meroño, University of Murcia
Branden Visser, Research Research
Anthony Whyte, University of Michigan
Drew Wills, Unicon


2013 Apereo Fellows
Arlen Johnson, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Andrew Petro, Unicon Inc
Eric Dalquist, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Laura McCord, University of California, Merced
Charles Hedrick, Rutgers University
Matthew Jones, Longsight
Bert Pareyn, University of Cambridge
Alan Regan, Pepperdine University


2012 Sakai Fellows
Lucy Appert, New York University
Chris Maurer, Indiana University
Sam Ottenhoff, Longsight Group
Sam Peck, Sakai OAE Project
Lance Speelmon, rSmart
Lynn Ward, Indiana University

2011 Sakai Fellows
Rob Coyle, Johns Hopkins University
Carl Hall, Hallway Technologies
David Roldán Martínez, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
Megan May, Indiana University
Zhen Qian, University of Michigan
Brian Richwine, Indiana University

2010 Sakai Fellows
Nate Angell, rSmart
Matthew Buckett, Oxford University
David Goodrum, Indiana University
David Horwitz, University of Cape Town
Steve Lonn, University of Michigan
Gonzalo Silverio, University of Michigan

2009 Sakai Fellows
Ian Boston, University of Cambridge 
Jean-François Lévêque, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Nicolaas Matthijs, University of Cambridge
Mathieu Plourde, University of Delaware
Janice A. Smith, Three Canoes Consulting
Steve Swinsburg, Lancaster University

2008 Sakai Fellows
Alan Berg, Universiteit van Amsterdam
Nuno Fernandes, Universidade Fernando Pessoa
David Horwitz, University of Cape Town
Beth Kirschner, University of Michigan
Maggie Lynch, Oregon Health & Science University
Stephen Marquard, University of Cape Town

2006-07 Sakai Fellows
Ian Boston, University of Cambridge
John Ellis, rSmart
Clay Fenlason, Boston University
Steven Githens, Northwestern University
Zach Thomas, Texas State
Seth Theriault, Columbia University
Johan van der Berg, UNISA
Aaron Zeckoski, Virginia Tech