2020 Apereo Fellows: Call for Nominations

The Apereo Fellows program seeks to foster community leadership and contributions by recognizing and supporting active contributors.  This year four (4) Fellows will be chosen by the selection committee and each Fellow will receive a modest stipend.  

I encourage all members of the Apereo Community to consider engaging in the nomination process.  Feel free to nominate more than one candidate and do not hesitate to nominate yourself if you meet the eligibility requirements outlined below.

Also it is important to emphasize that the program recognizes contributors at the individual project level as well as those who contribute more generally to Apereo Foundation initiatives.  If you or your colleagues work on projects like Bedework, CAS, ELMS:LN, Karuta, OAE, OnTask, Opencast, Open Equella, Sakai, UniTime, uPortal, Xerte or any of the projects under incubation, you are helping advance the mission of the Apereo Foundation.  In short, if you contribute to a project you contribute to Apereo.


  • Total: up to 4 Fellowships will be awarded
  • Term: 1 year from date of award
  • Stipend: USD $2500.00
  • Conference Fee waiver: Open Apereo 2020 Online registration fee will be waived.


Contributors participating actively in any of the various Apereo software communities and communities of interest, as well as those working on projects under Apereo incubation are eligible for nomination subject to the following limitations:

  • Previous Apereo/Sakai Fellowship winners are ineligible for nomination.
  • Apereo Board members, Apereo staff and Apereo Fellows Selection Committee members are also ineligible for nomination.




Monday, 25 May 2020 23:59 UTC.


Please return the completed form(s) to Anthony Whyte at arwhyte[at]umich[dot]edu


On behalf of the Fellows Selection Committee I look forward to receiving your nominations.


Anthony Whyte
Selection Committee chair


2019 Apereo Fellows

Julien Gribonvald, GIP RECIA

Greg Logan, consultant

Misagh Moayyed, Unicon

Martin Ramsey, LAMP

Jolie Tingen, Duke University


2018 Apereo Fellows

Shawn Foster, Western University

Luisa Li, Marist College

Rüdiger Rolf, University of Osnabrück

Tiffany Stull, University of Virginia

Tim Vertein, University of Wisconsin-Madison


2017 Apereo Fellows

Adrian Fish, Lancaster University

Benito Gonzalez, Unicon

Dede Hourican, Marist College

Ron Mitchell

Miguel Pellicer, Entornos de Formación

Sven Stauber, SWITCH


2016 Apereo Fellows

Matt Clare, Centre for Pedagogical Innovation at Brock University

Wilma Hodges, Longsight

Brian Jones, Western University

José Mariano Luján, University of Murcia

Jacques Raynauld, HEC Los Angeles

Charles Severance, University of Michigan/Longsight


2015 Apereo Fellows

Alexandre Ballesté, Universidad de Lleida

Simon Gaeremynck, Fronteer

Gao Jun, Fudan University

Lars Kiesow, ELAN e.V./University of Osnabrück

Tim Levett, University of Wisconsin

Earle Nietzel, Scriba


2014 Apereo Fellows

Diego del Blanco Orobitg, Asahi NET International

Bryan Holladay, Longsight

Juan José Meroño, University of Murcia

Branden Visser, Research Research

Anthony Whyte, University of Michigan

Drew Wills, Unicon


2013 Apereo Fellows

Arlen Johnson, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Andrew Petro, Unicon Inc

Eric Dalquist, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Laura McCord, University of California, Merced

Charles Hedrick, Rutgers University

Matthew Jones, Longsight

Bert Pareyn, University of Cambridge

Alan Regan, Pepperdine University


2012 Sakai Fellows

Lucy Appert, New York University

Chris Maurer, Indiana University

Sam Ottenhoff, Longsight Group

Sam Peck, Sakai OAE Project

Lance Speelmon, rSmart

Lynn Ward, Indiana University


2011 Sakai Fellows

Rob Coyle, Johns Hopkins University

Carl Hall, Hallway Technologies

David Roldán Martínez, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia

Megan May, Indiana University

Zhen Qian, University of Michigan

Brian Richwine, Indiana University


2010 Sakai Fellows

Nate Angell, rSmart

Matthew Buckett, Oxford University

David Goodrum, Indiana University

David Horwitz, University of Cape Town

Steve Lonn, University of Michigan

Gonzalo Silverio, University of Michigan


2009 Sakai Fellows

Ian Boston, University of Cambridge

Jean-François Lévêque, Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Nicolaas Matthijs, University of Cambridge

Mathieu Plourde, University of Delaware

Janice A. Smith, Three Canoes Consulting

Steve Swinsburg, Lancaster University


2008 Sakai Fellows

Alan Berg, Universiteit van Amsterdam

Nuno Fernandes, Universidade Fernando Pessoa

David Horwitz, University of Cape Town

Beth Kirschner, University of Michigan

Maggie Lynch, Oregon Health & Science University

Stephen Marquard, University of Cape Town


2006-07 Sakai Fellows

Ian Boston, University of Cambridge

John Ellis, rSmart

Clay Fenlason, Boston University

Steven Githens, Northwestern University

Zach Thomas, Texas State

Seth Theriault, Columbia University

Johan van der Berg, UNISA

Aaron Zeckoski, Virginia Tech