2020 ATLAS Winners

Apereo Teaching and Learning Award (ATLAS) Winners

The ATLAS Committee is very pleased to announce the 2020 ATLAS Course Award being given to the team at Duke Kunshan University for the course, China in the World. The faculty team, headed by Dr. James Miller, Associate Dean for Interdisciplinary Strategy, showed excellent organization and navigation design. This interdisciplinary team also includes Bryce Beemer, Zach Fredman, Kolleen Guy, Ben Van Overmeire and Qian Zhu. They have well-documented vigorous interaction with students and faculty and show enthusiastic responses from students for their learning experience. The course is attractive and well laid out, but without needless distractions. Lectures are meaningful and are accompanied with closed captions and running transcript.

The committee is also pleased to announce the results of a new award, the ATLAS Institutional Remote Learning Initiative Award, intended to recognize the efforts of our organizations to respond to the extraordinary circumstances of the pandemic. Organizations have been forced to pivot to an all online environment in an extremely short period of time. Sakai and other Apereo tools have been invaluable in all our challenges.

We want to grant recognition to Walsh University in responding to this crisis in a comprehensive way. We looked at criteria that evaluated their response to faculty and students in all the needs that presented themselves. Criteria categories included Learning Effectiveness, Scale, Access, Faculty Satisfaction, and Student Satisfaction. They have moved mightily on multiple fronts to support their people and maintain the institutional integrity and have effectively employed Sakai and other Apereo tools to their success.

Other well-qualified applicants were also considered. The awarding panel were impressed with the applications and efforts of all those who submitted.


ATLAS Awards Committee

Terry Golightly, Johnson University, Chair
Wilma Hodges, Longsight, Apereo
Terry Smith, New Brunswick Theological Seminary
Dede Hourican, Marist College
JaimeLynn Bishop, Marist College
Rob Keeney, Grafton TDS, Inc