Nomination Period Now Open: 2023 Apereo Dolphin Awards and Fellowships

Each year, the Apereo Foundation celebrates our open source community's many volunteer efforts, innovations, and success stories by awarding the Apereo Dolphin Awards and Fellowships. The Foundation is pleased to announce the opening of the submission period for all nominations and applications for the 2023 Apereo Dolphin Awards and Fellowships. The submission window is open until April 30th, 2023. 

Apereo Dolphin Fellows

Fellowships recognize exceptional service and contributions by individuals to the Apereo open source community. From development to project management to other acts of service and support, Apereo Fellows make important contributions to the projects within the foundation. The fellowship award is intended to support ongoing work in Apereo communities. Applications should be merit-based, describing how the applicant has contributed to one of the many areas of Apereo's mission and community, and how the support from a fellowship will contribute to future development activities and objectives.


Apereo Dolphin Awards

Teaching and Learning: These awards recognize innovation in teaching and learning using open source software, promoting excellent pedagogy, sharing new practices in teaching, and encouraging more faculty involvement in software evolution.

Enterprise Solutions: This award seeks to recognize academic institutions, project teams, or others in the development, deployment, and/or implementation of open source software that supports the operation of higher education.

Innovation, Advocacy, and Networking, "The IAN": This is a special honor to recognize an individual champion or leader, although this award can also go to an organization. The recipient of this award promotes, propels, and transforms open source initiatives to meet the diverse and evolving needs of higher education.


Eligibility requirement: Nominees must not have been the recipient of any Apereo fellowship or award in the last three years. Please consult our historical lists of awardees before entering a nomination. Note that awards and fellowships changed names in 2022 to honor Executive Director Emeritus, Ian Dolphin. 

Dolphin Awards & Fellows (2022 only)

Dolphin & Apereo Fellows (2022 and prior)

ATLAS and TWISA Awardees (2020 and prior)


Please note a shift from the 2022 process, we have two separate forms, one for fellows and one for awards categories. 



Picture of fellows form




We look forward to reviewing the applications this spring and celebrating the many achievements of our community members. Please send questions and comments to michelle.hall[at]apereo[dot]org