Bedework Leadership

The Bedework Steering Committee serves as the governing body responsible for the strategic direction and operational oversight of the Bedework project.  The committee acts as an advocate for the project and helps to ensure its continued health and growth. The Bedework community helps select the membership of the committee and can feel free to contact the committee to provide further input by sending an email to bedework-steering-committee[at]lists.jasig[dot]org.

Current Steering Committee Members

  • Greg Allen
  • Nick Blair, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Mike Douglass, Spherical Cow Group
  • Jenny Ellis, Nashville Public Library
  • Arlen Johnson, Spherical Cow Group
  • Barry Leibson, Girasole Solutions
  • Gary Schwartz, RPI
  • Carlos Alonso Vega, Universidad Pública de Navarra
  • Eric Wittmann, Red Hat - Committee Chair


  • Capture requirements for Bedework functionality
  • Determine priority of deliverables for releases
  • Determine resource needs
  • Partner with institutions, commercial affiliates, and other community source projects to recruit, acquire, develop resources from the community
  • Assist in grant proposals on behalf of the project
  • Prioritize the use of external funds that have been allocated to the project
  • Monitor progress towards releases
  • Communicate regularly to the Apereo leadership

Steering Committee Alumni

  • Steve Carmody, Brown University
  • Deb Johnson, Duke University